Cui Jian – A Piece Of Red Cloth

The “Father of Chinese Rock” hid for his safety in 1989 for the Tiananmen Square massacre.  He has written in Time Magazine that this song is about alienation. However, performing the song blindfolded may be seen more as a sign of solidarity and support and thanks for those that protested and died.

While Western performers pat themselves on the back for making political statements, Cui Jian lives them.

Here is one verse, though what is inspiring is no translation is even needed for this special performer to communicate with us:

I cannot go, I cannot cry alone
I cannot weep, I am dry as a bone
but still I follow without sleep or rest
because your pain I know the best

Also by Cui Jian, reviewed here: Nothing To My Name

Comment here please:

